WhatsApp: making the “message yourself” feature available to all users

Apart from the official method introduced by WhatsApp recently, we have also included a workaround to start a conversation with yourself in the messaging app. That said, let’s dive right in.

WhatsApp on iPhone and Android:

1. Open WhatsApp and click the “New Chat” button at the bottom right. In the contacts list, you will find your own phone number with the “Message yourself” label.

2. This is an optional step, but we suggest you head to the “Contacts” app on your iPhone or Android phone. Then, save your personal phone number to your device

3. Saving your phone number will make you show the contact name in the “message yourself” chat, making it easier to keep track of the same. You can now send texts to yourself as reminders, to-do lists, or share files across web and mobile using this chat window.

4. Also, whenever you wish to preserve any photos or videos, just tap the “forward” button next to the media in a chat window. Then, select the “message yourself” chat from the contacts list in WhatsApp.

5. And there you have it! As you can see here, I have been using the “message yourself” chat to share screenshots for articles with myself. I can then access them via WhatsApp Web. I even share important ideas, meeting notes, and other important info in this chat window. You can even send voice notes to yourself in this chat.

Make Solo WhatsApp Group to Message Yourself

First, tap the “New Chat” button at the bottom right, and then select the “New group” option on the next page.

2. Now, add a single person to this new group you are creating. It could be anyone, a close friend or your secondary number. Then, name the group (I named my group saved msgs, as I use it for bookmarking texts, photos, and videos) and tap the “checkmark” button at the bottom right.

3. Once your group has been created, tap on the group’s name at the top to visit its settings page. On the group settings page, you will find a list of participants. Here, long-press on the name of the second participant apart from you

4. Next, tap on the “Remove [participant name]” option in the context menu that shows on long-pressing the name. Then, tap “OK” in the pop-up window to confirm your action.

5. Now, as you can notice in the screenshots below, you are the only participant in this chat. You can use this WhatsApp group chat without any other members to text yourself messages, save memes, videos, and more.

I primarily use the bookmarks group to share photos, videos, and other important stuff across web and mobile using WhatsApp. I can share a picture on WhatsApp from my phone and download it on a computer using WhatsApp Web. Quite handy, right

1 thought on “WhatsApp: making the “message yourself” feature available to all users”

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *