Lok Sabha passed the Jammu and Kashmir Official Languages Bill, 2020 today. The bill aims to make Kashmiri, Dogri, Hindi, English and Urdu as the official languages of the Union Territory of Jammu and Kashmir. Speaking about the bill in Lok Sabha, Union Minister of State for Home Ministry G. Kishan Reddy said that that the legislation will fulfill the long awaited demand of the people of Jammu and Kashmir. The minister informed that earlier the official language for the Union territory was only Urdu. He said
the Lieutenant Governor of Jammu and Kashmir had informed the Centre that people across the Union Territory had been demanding to include the languages they speak and understand as their official language.


Surbhi Saxena edits the daily Current Affairs News.
The author is qualified member of The Institute of Company Secretaries of India (ICSI).

One reply on “Lok Sabha passes Jammu and Kashmir Official Languages Bill, 2020”