The Ministry of Fisheries, Animal Husbandry and Dairying has said that so far outbreak of Avian Influenza or Bird flu has been confirmed in 9 States for poultry birds. The States are Kerala, Haryana, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Chhattisgarh, Uttarakhand, Gujarat, Uttar Pradesh and Punjab for poultry birds. The Ministry, however, said that it has been confirmed in 12 States for crow, migratory and wild birds. These States include Madhya Pradesh, Haryana, Maharashtra, Chhattisgarh, Himachal Pradesh, Gujarat, Delhi, Rajasthan, Jammu and Kashmir and Punjab.

The Ministry said, Control and Containment Operations  are going on in the affected epicentres of Maharashtra, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Punjab, Uttar Pradesh and Gujarat. Surveillance work is also continuing in the places where positive results have been reported in other species of birds excluding poultry.