These States Had Not Given Relief On Petrol And Diesel To Public

Nine states of the country did not cut petrol and diesel VAT, due to which the public has to buy them at expensive rates. Union Petroleum and Natural Gas Minister Hardeep Singh Puri told the Rajya Sabha on Monday that the central government cut central excise tax in November 2021, but nine states, including Maharashtra and Kerala, did not cut VAT rates. 

Along with this, Puri presented comparative data of America, Canada, France, Germany, UK, Spain and India, saying that during the corona epidemic in these countries, prices increased by 50 to 55 percent, but in India only 5 percent increased. “We should be happy for it but instead we had to hear why the prices are rising,” he said. He claimed that petrol prices in the country were stable from 1 April 2020 to 21 March 2021.

These states did not deduct VAT

The rate of petroleum products in the country is very high in Maharashtra, West Bengal, Tamil Nadu, Telangana, Andhra Pradesh, Kerala, Jharkhand, Chhattisgarh and Rajasthan. These are all non-BJP ruled states, which did not reduce the VAT rates even after cutting the central tax.