Finance Minister addresses the Central Board of Directors of Reserve Bank of India

The 593rd meeting of the Central Board of Directors of Reserve Bank of India was held today at New Delhi under the Chairmanship of Shri Shaktikanta Das, Governor.

Smt. Nirmala Sitharaman, Hon’ble Union Minister of Finance & Corporate Affairs, addressed the Directors of the Central Board. The Hon’ble Finance Minister in her address outlined the thinking behind the Union Budget 2022-23 and the priorities of the Government. Complimenting the Finance Minister on the Budget, the Board members made various suggestions for consideration of the Government.

The Union Finance Minister was accompanied by Dr. Bhagwat Kishanrao Karad, Hon’ble Minister of State for Finance; Dr. T.V. Somanathan, Finance Secretary & Secretary, Department of Expenditure; Shri Tuhin Kanta Pandey, Secretary, Department of Investment and Public Asset Management; Shri Tarun Bajaj, Secretary, Department of Revenue; Shri Sanjay Malhotra, Secretary, Department of Financial Services and Dr. V. Anantha Nageswaran, Chief Economic Advisor.

The Board in its meeting reviewed the current economic situation, global and domestic challenges. The Board also felicitated Shri N. Chandrasekaran, Director, on being awarded Padma Bhushan.

Deputy Governors Shri Mahesh Kumar Jain, Dr. Michael Debabrata Patra, Shri M. Rajeshwar Rao, Shri T. Rabi Sankar and other Directors of the Central Board – Shri N. Chandrasekaran, Shri Satish K. Marathe, Shri S. Gurumurthy, Ms Revathy Iyer and Prof. Sachin Chaturvedi attended the meeting. Shri Ajay Seth, Secretary, Department of Economic Affairs also attended the meeting.